Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Buddleia Bush

Well, it may not sound like much, but I went outside today for the first time in nearly a fortnight.

Admittedly, I only went as far as the garden gate, with the Wonderspouse supporting my arm, but it's progress. I took a picture of the buddleia while I was out - it's grown MASSIVE!

I also had a bath this morning and washed my own hair.

Serious 'flu' really is nasty. My energy levels are so low that the Wonderspouse is running the house pretty much on his own, and I can only do little bits at a time.

Needless to say, I'm getting rather frustrated by it all.

Unless I make a miraculous recovery it looks like I'll miss the rat show at the weekend - yet another thing missed because of illness and so on this year.

We're hoping to get down to FiL's as soon as possible, but can't do anything until I'm fit enough to drive the distance. We've looked at hotels in the vicinity to try and think whether we could go one day and come back the next, but they're all too expensive, so we'll just have to wait until I'm strong enough to do the trip in the day.

The Wonderspouse has gone out this evening - first time I've been left on my own since I got ill. He fed me before he left, and he's left me with things to drink and nibble while he's out. He's only at the local town, doing poems, and will walk there and back.

I've been managing to catch up on blips a bit, which is probably good.

I'll be really glad when I'm better though - I'm not naturally a "sitting around resting" sort of person.

And I HAVE to get some work soon - could really have done without this flu business on top of everything else.

Feeling a bit grumpy today - can you tell? No energy, no dosh, and I'm not even well enough to drown my sorrows in a glass of something or comfort eat doughnuts until I feel better.

Normal cheerful service will be resumed at some point. The Wonderspouse has said that he'll get all the ratties out tomorrow and bring them down to play - I'm really missing my usual playtimes with them - I just haven't been up to it.

On the bright side, it's nice to be able to have the golf on telly all day (although Phil Mickelson - my fave golfer - isn't doing too well, which is sad), and there's a Prom on the box too tonight, so I'll be able to watch that while the Wonderspouse is out doing poems.

I'll keep backblipping as much as I can too - somewhere in June at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.