Curlew 2016

I blipped a curlew on March 22nd last year, and then not till June - so another seems due. The fact it's the only half decent picture I took today also helps.
Pooch was off to the vets today first thing, and I had a builder coming round, so it was early afternoon before I got out. Without pooch I made a conscious decision to go looking for birds, and was rewarded by this well camouflaged beauty. the lack of taking to flight makes me think a nest will be nearby, I'll avoid this area with pooch for a goodly while.

Pooches xrays showed that she has age related calcification of her vertebrae. Obviously not great news, but it can be medicated with Gabbapentin, so hopefully she'll feel better and have more years of playing.
Apparently she snapped at the vet when they gave her the anesthetic injection. Mrs IttH's reply? "Consider yourself lucky it wasn't my husband..."

Philosophy Friday;
Handle every stressful situation like a dog;
If you can't play with it or eat it - then pee on it and walk away....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.