Memory Lane

Todays blip was chosen as i remember these from my very early youth on the farm - i think by the time i was allowed to drive a tractor (11 or so) they'd been replaced with the blue of the Ford 2000's.

A long day out canvassing today - i started by taking the early shift as a steward at Kirkby Stephen Primary School who were offering their carpark, soup & cake to the hordes visiting the town for the vintage vehicle rally. That they need to raise funds to build a much needed classroom is another example of why we need to get more talent onto our councils!
Then it was into town to meet my much depleted team of.... John! (Who put in a stirling effort). Obviously I bought him coffee and a cake and them we watched the town slowly fill with a fantastic mix of old vehicles.
Pounding the streets was rewarding, tough, depressing, hilarious, saddening and left me both encouraged and disheartened!
We then popped to two little villages - Winton and Ravenstonedale the latter feeling slightly more positive.

Home and the lure of sun dragged me into the garden - but wow was that wind cold! Three hours of weeding and rock moving later I gave in and rewarded myself with a hot bath and a G&T.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.