Tick followed tock

Ahab says" I don't care who you are, here's to your dream"

Team IttH headed to Derwentwater to leisurely wander the shore, we caught clagbound glimpses of distant hills through the mizzle, but it was warm enough to amble amiably. Pooch had a play but seems less sure of the water now as her senses fade.
I thought I might glimpse some hills from the end of a jetty, but Pushka's bustle and curiosity made us all laugh, wherever I turned on the narrow walkway she barged over to see what I'd spotted, but then wouldn't deign to be my model for the day, so you get this candid shot.

Despite the leisurely pace and the nonchalant natter I could hear my internal ticking, a building sense of something approaching. As we talked through the coming weeks I realised with a jolt that my spare time has gone, my  "to-do'-soon" list funnelling down to a "must-do-now" list. Nan's funeral will be a three day affair, midday in Norfolk isn't attainable any other way. I've two courses to attend next weekend and a Bronze DofE to assess. Lesson plans (& research*) for tropical emergencies to write. Flying to BVI in a few weeks has suddenly become a few days.

We got back and I spent the late afternoon into evening compiling the 14 different format documents we received for the Enhanced Responder Course into one e-book with notes pages for each of 24 modules (gulp; 6 of which I need to do in my 3 spare days in May...). Boggle eyed, I'll review it in the morning and make a contents page.
Right, that's one thing off the list...

*Just as I heaved a sigh of relief that the 5 indigenous snakes of the BVI are harmless my mate sent me a picture of a scorpion. Which wouldn't have been so bad if it hadn't been the same size as his foot.
Then he mentioned the trees that drip acid on you. Great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.