Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Hanging out

Its Pips 4th Birthday today along with her brother Rusty. Four years ago and not only were we lambing and calving but Shaw was whelping! Pip is hanging out the air vent in the livestock trailer watching what I'm up to. She looks sad that I left her behind for the lambing round this afternoon.

Crazy long day starting with the doorbell ringing at 4.30am as a pipe had burst in one of the cottages and there was water going everywhere. Got the water turned off and helped them mop up all the water. By the time I had done that it was only 45minutes until the alarm went off so I made a cuppa tea and read my book. Annoyingly I hadn't slept well anyway and I was soo tired too! New calf this morning Hermione has had a bull calf and all is well there.

After lunch we managed to draw off 14 ewes and their lambs to treat and put out to their hills. Then after a 30minute nap I took the dogs for an hours run around and then back to the rounds. One ewe had lambed and didn't have much milk yet so the lamb was a bit cold so I brought her in. There was another lambing as I did this. I went back to keep an eye on her and after a while decided to give her a hand. A big lamb who is a bit slow and dopey so I brought them inside for the night. Just been out to check and feed them all. Bedtime now. I do hope I sleep better tonight!

5c 15mph N windchill 0c heavy rain shower for an hour am then sunshine but felt cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.