Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Red Yucca

These are some of the flowers of the Red Yucca (which isn't really a yucca). They are at the end of long spikes rising out of the base of the plant. Most of the flowers are pretty much dried up but with more rain, might bloom a little more.

They are exceedingly tough plants, tolerating extreme temperatures and needing no attention, although I do remove the dried flower stalks in the fall. I find it encourages the new stalk growth in the spring. I've had as many as eight flower stalks and as few as two in any given year.

They are usually great for attracting hummingbirds but I haven't seen any this year, probably because they dried up so quickly in late May and June. They should bloom through September and if the conditions are right for the rest of the rainy season, I might get to see a hummer or two.

With any luck, this link will bring you to an internet photo of what a full plant looks like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.