Tom

I had a busy day. First we drove to Blackheath where Bob and Mr isbi met up to continue work on the greenhouse. I drove into Katoomba to the camera shop ( we don't have one here). I was interested in buying a new camera and had one picked out but wanted to see and hold it before purchasing. Lo and behold they had the same model I was wanting to check out.... A bridge camera, Panasonic DMC FZ 1000. The fixed lens goes from 25-400 which would certainly take care of everyday shots but I was mainly interested to see how it took macros. You can get up to 3cm with pretty good results but that is no use photographing insects. I rarely take insects so thought I would be happy with the camera. After a hot chocolate and about 5 minutes of decision time I raced back to the shop and got it. It is considerably lighter than the Nikon. I took a range of shots which are pretty mixed bag from distant mountains to a tiny spider ( after saying I don't do insects).

After I did my shopping I visited the most wonderful Blipper Jolang and her husband Curt. We had a tour of the garden and all her handicraft. My first shot was of Jolang which came out well but she prefers not to go on blip all the time so I put up Tom instead. He doesn't get a choice.

Then after fighting the Sydney siders who visit the mountains on the weekends I finally found a car park and purchased some meat pies for the men at work...they had progressed well and after a few more hours we packed up and drove home - 1.5 hours. Now I am going to read the camera manual so I can work out how to get it off auto....

Shutter priority 60, f8.0, ISO 125.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.