A First From Me

Just as I seldom blip flowers, so do I rarely blip birds. There was a time at the beginning of my blip journey when the odd swan would float by, but I was dissuaded from continuing by D77 who advised me that no attempt of mine would do justice to the depth of whiteness in the feathers. As this was accompanied by a warning about blipping kittens , I sometimes wonder if photographic snobbery was not his root problem.

At any rate, I have never thought it worthwhile to blip the 18 collared doves pecking in the grass outside as they only appear in the evening, or the large family of crows who also parade past the windows late in the day.
This morning for the first time in 7 years of blipping, I found this little blue tit flitting with its mate through the branches of the beech hedge at the entrance to the Dower House. It is certainly not the first blue tit to appear on Blipfoto, nor is it the finest , but he is a first for me and deserves to be in my journal for that reason.

The Great Edinburgh Run got a good dry cold day for the event this morning. There was a time when His Lordship and I took part in this run, but now we are content to stand with our cameras and catch some of the action. The course is a hilly 10 miles starting at Holyrood and going up through the Old Town, wending its way through George Square, past our windows and round Arthur's Seat before finishng back at Holyrood.

I have included some images in my extra collage- a familiar figure behind a tree (for legitimate purposes), the second lady runner, the first having taken me by surprise, and the brass band in action at  Middle Meadow Walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.