COMMON KESTREL

Swinging on a branch.
I was all morning in the garden.
After lunch Piet Hein and I walked to Würgassen, our favourite path along the Weser for lazy Sundays.
We saw three swallows, and followed their elegant flying. low over the, the water. And three horses, well two horses and one pony. They were led out of the meadow, two went in a car and the pony was ridden by a lovely young lady.
The kestrel I saw when we walked back, in a very high tree, then she came nearer and sat in a lower tree. I could come nearer, but the distance kept a bit big. After the shooting he or she flew away in a great bow.
The weather changed every minute, but all in all it was good to have some fresh air and a nice walk. We sat at a bench and pointed at the hill at the other side of the river. Look, there goes the path up that we walked yesterday. Isn't it nice to see it from here?

My haiku:

Look the Hessen ship
Has returned from the journey
Always a safe trip

And the proverb:

When my ship comes home.

(= when one comes into one's fortune)

1851  Mayhew, Lond.Labour I, 175.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.