American Alligator.....

This morning we went back to Sweetwater wetlands & spent more time there taking pictures. I got to see some bobolinks--which I'd never seen before--and Deb (dbifulco) pointed out a purple gallinule to me, which---big surprise--I'd never seen before either!  But before I could catch it in a picture it had gone down into the marshes & I couldn't see it anymore. Because Deb is like a walking google on birds & because she'd pointed it out to me, I spotted one a bit further on & got several shots of it, one of which I've put in my extras. I really, really wanted to see an alligator a bit closer & Sefferdog told me not to worry as I'd see lots of them at La Chua Trail. And did I ever! This one in my blip slowly swam over toward a large bunch of greenery where a small green heron was looking for food. As the alligator got to the edge of the greenery it submerged, & not all that much later came up through the greenery to try for the heron! (which luckily escaped harm). Very exciting!  Our last night together for this years' blipmeet, and we're meeting for dinner shortly. The time just goes by so quickly!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.