Pensacola Light House....

I'm sad to say that our Blipmeet is over, but our trip isn't! We got up at 0545 this morning to get on the road early, & it was so beautiful as the sun came up--fields full of mists & a few deer standing out in one of the fields--I would have loved to have taken some photographs but we were on the expressway so couldn't stop! We drove 5 hours across Florida's panhandle to Pensacola, Florida where we stopped to see their Light House, which was built in 1859.The Lighthouse overlooks beautiful white sand beaches & there are apparently stunning views from the top of the Lighthouse which was unfortunately closed today.  We left the Lighthouse and drove less than a mile to the National Naval Aviation Museum which houses an unbelievable collection of old and new Naval planes, uniforms, squadron patches, and anything else to do with Naval history. One of my favorites there(I put a picture of it in my extras) was the Goshawk--BFC 2--manufactured in 1932 as a dual fighter & bomber. Not many of them were made--only 27--& those were delivered to the Navy's famous "High Hat Squadron" in Feb. of 1933 (note the picture of the top hat on the plane--the squadron's emblem)--this particular plane was reconstructed using the few parts that remained from the original production run. On the way out I got to sit in the cockpit of one of the famous "Blue Angels" F/A-18 Hornets--very exciting-- and believe me, I was ready to take off....but for some reason they wouldn't remove the steps that were attached to the plane!! (Happy to know that THEY know what they're doing!! Haha!)  
Thank you all so much for the comments you've been leaving--with the blipmeet and now all the driving I haven't had much time to comment, but I'll catch up eventually! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.