Journey Through Time

By Sue

A Day of Riches

What a banner day! And it is Thursday! Thor's Day. A day named after an Avenger!

First of all, our lovely lady in Jakarta, Esta, of live and love your life journal, got the chocolate that I sent her. She ate a piece and is still alive, as far as I know. Yay!! She is too cute for words.

Then I went up to the Botanical Wildlife Garden where the perennials have exploded into the most glorious show of color, that I was "gobsmacked". (my favorite UK expression of all time.) And I have to say, in our bit of tropical humidity that seems to be "sticking" around, I have a new found respect for our Blippers in humid climates. I did think of Esta in Jakarta and Vodkaman, also in Indonesia. Not to mention all of the US east of the Rocky mountains this summer, Urk.

Anyway!! This is a painted lady butterfly, which I have seen, but rarely visits my own garden. I guess I need to plant some coneflowers as this butterfly was very content on this flower. I was very happy to finally see a different butterfly for a change. And then, the swallowtail is in a pose that I have wanted to get, with those majestic wings in that very photogenic V shape. Look at those big eyes! Check it out in large if you can. And, a little bunny was in a small clearing, but I had shrubbery to contend with. Got this shot off, and then it scampered away.

I met another photographer hanging out there, and she'd just taken over 400 photos of a hummingbird or maybe more than one hummingbird. Apparently by the time I got there, they were full, as I saw one, briefly.

I was warming up and getting uncomfortable (how does Vodkaman do this???) so headed for the barn. Ice water and a sandwich made me feel much better.

If I hadn't gone to the garden and gotten the butterflies I was going to probably use this image of bush tits in our fountain. They are the plainest little grey bird, but they are so small and I think they are awfully cute. There are young ones now, so I think they were being introduced to the water fountain. We have baby finches, baby bush tits, and baby chickadees in the garden now. They are driving their parents nuts, following them, begging, fluttering, whining. You know, typical toddlers.

OH! Wait, there's more. Today, for about 5 seconds a hawk was on a low branch in a tree in the back wooded area. It was RIGHT THERE, I said, Oh, a hawk! and then, it might have seen me through the screen door, and off it went.

Okay, I'm done. Have a great day Blippers. Maybe you will get a nice surprise today, also. One never knows, does one?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.