Companionship

"I say Hermione dear, isn't it a wonderful change to paddle at the water's edge and feel the sun on our backs and no wind to ruffle our feathers. "

"Just what I was thinking Basil, but you beat me to it. I was rather preoccupied looking at that elderly couple combing the beach for something. If they are looking for anything edible they will be sadly disappointed."

"They look like day trippers to me, Hermione, out to fill their city lungs with good old ozone and look, the younger bird is looking at us with something up at her eye while the older one is raking amongst the pebbles and putting things in a bag".

" Basil, it's rude to stare. Look the other way, and maybe they will move on and leave us in peace."

And His Lordship and I did that , leaving the Prestonpans' seagulls to quiet contemplation as we walked further along the John Muir Trail foraging for sea glass and broken pottery before returning to the city and a late lunch at the Dome.

The extra image is the view from Prestonpans across to Edinburgh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.