Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

200 years ago!

It is of course the Queen's 90th birthday today... happy birthday ma'am :)

And it is also 200 years since Charlotte Bronte was born on this day too.

I heard on the news yesterday that there would be a 'party' by the Bronte Parsonage, to celebrate Charlotte's birthday, and school children would perform early scenes from Jane Eyre.  So at lunchtime, I bundled Chino in the car for his walkies around Haworth...and a nosy.

As it happens, I came across these cyclists who were carrying half a wreath of flowers.  The full wreath had been laid in a ceremony at Thornton where Charlotte was born, and then they rode their bikes from there to Haworth, with half of it for another ceremony at the Parsonage.  There were 6 of them... but 2 were still to arrive.... well it is steep..very steep.. and there are cobbles.

I couldn't hang around sadly... but my extra is of a little gathering outside the parsonage.... I loved the 3 dogs, one being very patient.... one flaked out.. and the other just being nosey..... they "transfix me, quite"! :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.