An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

April Showers...

Okay, so I overdid things a bit yesterday and didn't listen when my body told me to take a rest so when it came to going upstairs to bed, I might as well have been standing at the bottom of Everest, the challenge to get to the top was so great.

On the one to ten pain scale, it was around 20 but, and for me this is the important bit, I didn't let it beat me.  I made it up the stairs.  I didn't cry like I did last week, but I can tell you that a few bad words were uttered.  Actually more than a few.  But I prefer feeling angry to feeling defeated and gritting my teeth whilst telling that pain to f*ck off definitely helps get the adrenalin pumping.

Today, however, I have listened to my body and it told me that going back downstairs again (then climbing back up at bed time) just wasn't an option.  It needed rest.   I wasn't even sure I would manage to get showered but was determined to give it a go.  It took a while but I did it and as ever in such circumstances, I felt a million times better afterwards. 

I have my next physio appointment tomorrow and I am determined to be there.  I can't believe how much more positive I feel just by changing my attitude to my circumstances and the pain level.   I just will not let it beat me and I can't wait to get the results of my x-ray because regardless of the outcome, I am more than ready to get started fixing it.

So even though I've been trapped upstairs on a beautiful day (David's been calling me Rapunzel all day! :-) it's been fine.  I have a comfy bed to sit on with a view to the stunning hills above Crieff, the window is open, the birds are singing, David is making dinner and my new blender has arrived.   I am just about to watch the accompanying DVD.

If my physio appointment isn't enough motivation to get downstairs tomorrow, then my new blender is.  Pondweed smoothie will be my reward ;-)


Just heard the sad news about the death of Prince.   Can't believe another icon is gone.  Much of his music forms the soundtrack of my youth.   What is going on?  It's getting that I'm afraid to check the news.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.