Waverley Abbey

On my way down to Bournemouth for the RPS Visual Arts Group weekend, I took time out to visit Waverley Abbey, near Farnham. Waverley is the very first monastery founded in Britain by a small group of Cistercian monks from France who settled here by the River Wey in 1128. There are impressive remains including the fine 13th century vaulted refectory or dining hall (shown in this blip) for the lay brothers, the locals used as the Cistercians' labour force.
After some difficulty in finding it, I was greeted by a security guard who said the site was closed to the public for eight weeks as it was being set up for a film set! However, I was able to persuade security to let me in for a peek as I had come a long way!  I spent a short time wandering over the site where heavy machinery was moving realistic looking stone pillars and getting all the extra items prepared for filming sometime in May. I don't know what the film is and I suppose that all this time,money and effort will end up with a few minutes of film!

I continued on my way to Bournemouth - very slowly in places due to heavy traffic, and found my hotel.  Thank goodness for satnav! It was a quick change and a short walk round to the hotel for the evening meetings and meal.  

A late blip as this is the first chance I have had to do anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.