The evening fisherman

Woke just before dawn this morning and went out to the deck. To the west was the full moon, low in the sky and reflecting the gold from the rising sun. My choice from a few photos is the extra for today. 

After a relaxed breakfast with the Saturday morning cryptic, I had an assessment to do; a custody matter before the Court. Always these matters are emotional and stressful, in large part because I am so aware that children get caught in the conflict. The starting position that the child(ren) is better off with 50:50 care has little evidence to support it. My job, though, is to assess the parent who is referred to me.

Late this afternoon we came north to the beach house. While S had a "hello" visit with her mother, I went down to the water's edge, where the tide was coming in apace. Did manage a few rather underexposed photos of birds feeding late. 

Shortly before I headed up the cliff path, I saw a lone fisherman on the rocks out from the point between Southend of Snells Beach and Fidelis Beach. He was very relaxed and catching fish appeared to be less important to him than was the act of fishing. 

Little Barrier Island (Hauturu) is the high purple mass in the distance. Nearer, is the Tawharanui peninsula. Where I want to go and look for some of the birds that are flourishing in the recently established sanctuary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.