Fly on blue

Started my day with my weigh-in. A few hundred grams up on yesterday but still under 66 kg and my 7-day average didn't move.

Yesterday I had a go at making marzipan, in theory if you put plenty of nuts in it and not much sugar it isn't that bad for you, I like it and it's convenient on the bike. Today after breakfast I had a go trying to shape it, it tastes awfully good but it is too wet. Needs smaller eggs or more nuts next time.

I painted some of the fence panels today, tedious to do, but the green stuff does seem to prevent them from rotting as fast as the unpainted ones. I also yanked some of the rusting nails out and replaced them with exterior screws - so they should hold together a bit better and last a few years longer. I don't really like fence panels, they are ugly, bad for the plants near them, and act like a sail so they always disintegrate eventually. however they do hide things...

After lunch I did a few tasks on the computer - if I work to 67 and don't mind living more frugally than I do now I'll be okay, nice to know my pension is worth so little...! In practice I am frugal and probably will be okay, but an awful lot of other people will have nothing when the retire but debts and a house they can't eat and won't sell.

Today's blip is a small fly resting on a bluebell in the garden. Sadly it's not a native British bluebell, but a - more practical in the garden - Spanish form, which does better in the full sun than the shy British version which prefers some shade. We didn't plant them, they came with the house, and we've only reorganised some of the planting not all of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.