This England

My erudite and well-read sister, who teaches English in France, asked me to go and take pics at an event in St Albans today, the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death. OVO took to the streets to perform some of the Bard's most famous scenes and speeches.

Initially I wasn't that enthusiastic, I'm not keen on towns, or cities for that matter. The last time I went to St Albans was a couple of years ago to get a pic of the 'tame' kingfisher in Verulamium Park for my mother. I caught up with the actors in the grounds of the abbey and was warmly welcomed by them. I'm not a theatre goer and I need to brush up my Shakespeare, however I got really into it. I didn't realise how amusing it can be.

The throng proceeded to the garden of Ye Olde Fighting Cocks pub. A beer swilling Falstaff finished his piece with, "Who comes here? My doe?" and approached a woman of my age in the crowd. I found it so funny. She said, "It's a long time since I've been called something like that." That play has a special significance for me as my car club mates will know. ;)

From there to The White Hart Hotel where Juliet appeared at an upstairs window and where we all filed into the bar for the final performance. I'm so glad that I made the effort to go. (I've added a couple of other pics to extras.)

Happy St George's Day. Who better to celebrate our England than William Shakespeare?  

"This royal throne of kings, this sceptred isle, 
This earth of majesty, this seat of Mars, 
This other Eden, demi-paradise, 
This fortress built by Nature for herself 
Against infection and the hand of war, 
This happy breed of men, this little world, 
This precious stone set in the silver sea, 
Which serves it in the office of a wall 
Or as a moat defensive to a house, 
Against the envy of less happier lands,-- 
This blessed plot, this earth, this realm, this England."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.