Where Eagles Dare

Driving early in the morning on the West Fort Island Trail I saw this bald eagle sitting on a pole on the side of the road. Screeching  to a halt, dropping the window and grabbing the camera - yes I can multi task - I took a few shots, then crawled slowly forward till we eyeballed each other; he daring me to continue which was a no brainer.

I do think there is something fabulous about interacting with wildlife and especially raptors such as this which are so magnificent and powerful. He got fed up with the camera shutter though after a while and idly glided to another pole with me in hot pursuit. Think he got a tad frustrated by this time and flew off. 

Parking up at the beach a woman in the next car accosted me asking if I'd managed to see him and loved going through my shots. So many little peeps around on the beach, butterflies in the bushes and dragons but to see this fantastic bird so close took my breath away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.