The Crazy.......

.....airport on the island of St. Maarten and one ticked off the bucket list.

I was quite looking forward to today as I knew we were visiting the Dutch island of Sint Maarten/Saint Martin famous for it's airport Princess Juliana International. I was hoping to see at least one plane land there but was informed there was quite a full schedule and I wasn't disappointed. 

We got to the famous Maho beach just after 11:00am and it seemed to be a very busy time for arrivals. My picture is of the first flight we saw land but this was followed by many small aircraft and big jets from the states.

I was hoping for a 747 like in the video but apparently they only land once a week on Sundays. Our taxi driver was very informative and told us one of the regular pilots with American Airlines does a bit of showboating by getting the plane really close to the runway fence and holding it whilst increasing the engines to maximise wind blast onto the beach. We actually witnessed this event and so I felt like we had a good experience of the airport.

We spent the afternoon in Philipsburg so the girls could shop, the men could sit in a bar and I could go off taking photographs, There were some great locals to photograph so get a taste in the extras, along with another lighter aircraft coming in quite well camouflaged  -------->

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.