Fields of Remembrance

Today I went out with my friend for lunch. On the way home we stopped off to have a look at the 'Fields of Remembrance'.

In 2015, the Canterbury Province Field in Cranmer Square contained 632 crosses commemorating the men and women of Christchurch who died in 1915. That number has be added to in 2016. Red poppies symbolising hope and regrowth mark are placed by every cross.

The numbers will increase progressively each year until there is a cross for every soldier killed in World War One. The Trust will have a complete set of 18,200 crosses to use in our ultimate commemoration on Armistice Day 2018.

I would have put up this blip tomorrow but with going away thought it was best today. The extras are of the sign in Cranmer Square explaining about the crosses. Also some Autumn colours in the city.

I have also put up some back blips of my trip to Akaroa this week if you would like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.