a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Red

This red camellia bloom has appeared on the camellia bush.  All the other flowers are variegated - pink with white edges to the flowers.  I guess it is some form of genetic throwback, but no less pretty for that.  Getting the reds right is considerably easier now that I've learned how to review the histogram as I shoot and to then make the necessary adjustments (thank you Emma Davies and your "A year with my camera" course).

The background is the reflection of the sky on the water of the pond - it is rather overcast now, but I like the way it acts as a neutral background for the flower petals.


I seem to have slightly hurt my back (not quite sure how) but I've been carrying an injury for a few days now that has been gradually grumbling with more intensity, so today has been spent more restfully.  Hopefully a few days of sensible posture and plenty of sleep will help get things back to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.