St Margaret, St Benedict's Street, Norwich

I was glad to get out of the cold office, for a brisk walk this lunchtime, in the hope that it would warm me a bit.

On my way back from a circular walk, I spotted, at the back of this church, a small extension. I am intrigued as to when it would have been added to a 14th century church, especially as it has a chimney, and some old doors/windows have been bricked up. Just an interesting observation really.

There are 5 churches along this road, and this is one of the many redundant churches in Norwich. Reading about it online, it would appear that in the 1970's, there were plans to demolish the jumble of buildings, medieval and later, that sit between Westwick Street and St Benedict Street, to create a big traffic junction to bring traffic into the city. Loads of heritage would have been lost, so how fortunate that protests by public at the time saved it. I think this church is now used for exhibitions, so I will drop in next time I see it is open.

I left at 4.30 and home at 5.30. Weather has turned chilly,but the no heating thing is still bearable. I put my dressing gown on and cooked dinner. At 7.30 after another frustrating episode of The Archers I dragged Henry away from his tv and we went for a walk up the lane with the dogs. It made the house feel warmer on our return!

Nothing planned now. I've put my stupid hens to bed. I am 95% sure we wont get any eggs hatching this time, as they keep kicking the eggs out of the nest. Now I'm off to bed with my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.