Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Meet # 32

Yardbird #32 made an appearance today, a beautiful yellow-rumped warbler in breeding plumage.  What a sight and most definitely worthy of today's blip!  Usually when I see these birds, it's in the fall and winter when they are in their non-breeding wardrobe - in fact, I blanked out on the id when I first spotted this little guy.  Until, that is, I saw his trade mark yellow rump.  I also heard what I think was a black-throated green warbler back in the woods today. 

And speaking of spring migrants...as I was working in the office this morning, I heard the familiar burbling song of the House Wren.  I ran outside, hoping to catch a peek of the little songster, and finally spotted him checking out a couple of the vacant nest boxes. As long as he leaves the bluebirds and chickadees alone, I'll be happy to have him here.  Every summer for the past 3 or 4 years we've had a house wren set up territory on our property and raise two broods.  Throughout the nesting season, the male sings from dawn to dusk, a cheerful song that is sure to bring a smile.  

I also found my first green sweat bee of the year - very exciting!  And, I even got a decent shot of it which isn't always that easy for me.   

In other news, Hubs got home very late last night after a good weekend of racing.  Even in spite of some mechanical issues yesterday, they managed to finish 3rd in their class - great way to start the race season!

Unless something really unexpected happens, I already know what I am going to blip tomorrow - prepare yourself for an overload of cuteness.  That's all I'm sayin'...

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.