Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I've got my eye on you, #29

I am somewhat reluctantly posting a House Sparrow today and even giving him a position on my photographic yard record for the year.  This is not the villainous sparrow that has been harassing the bluebirds, but a second male that's been coming around for suet. He doesn't seem to be interested in the boxes, nor is he singing.  I'm keeping my eye on him though. 

And, I am happy to report that the first House Sparrow is no longer in my yard now.  My sparrow trap worked like a charm and the little reprobate has been relocated to the home where MIL lives. I took the entire nest box in my car and, when I got there, I held the box out my car window, opened the side panel, and out he flew.  No harm done and now there is one less threat to my bluebirds.  All good.  I'll admit that, in spite of their apalling nesting behavior, they are very handsome birds, especially the males with their striking black bibs.

Last evening, I spotted the first Gray Catbird of the season in the yard.  They are such elegant looking birds and always such a welcome summer resident on our property.  They are in the mimic-thrush family, the same at the also-elegant Brown Thrashers. And this morning, I spotted a blue-gray gnatcatcher way up in one of the maple trees, flitting about catching insects.  That makes 48 species seen in/from my yard so far this year...

Steady slow drizzle all day, exactly what we need for the garden.  It will make for a muddy walk with my group tomorrow, however.  No worries, though, I've got some well-worn hiking boots that are up for just about anything.

Thanks for stopping by.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.