Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Missus, getting down to business

Last evening just before dusk, Madame was seen carrying loads of grass into the nest box in my garden.  And, this morning, she was back to do some more work, encouraged by Monsieur who was singing while she worked.  I had a peak in the box this afternoon and it appears to me that it is nearly complete - maybe another day or two.  

Meanwhile, the nefarious House Sparrow is coming and going and being generally sinister.  Happily, while I was out hiking this morning (more on that later) my Van Ert sparrow trap arrived and it is now installed in the box that he's bonded with.  Hopefully within the next 24 hours, he'll be relocated far away from my yard!

I went out on one of my very favorite trails this morning, hoping to see the first Yellow Warblers of the season.  They didn't disappoint, and I spotted at least a half dozen singing and looking gorgeous.  The one in the linked photo was just a bit above eye level with no leaves on the tree which made for great conditions, although I wish the background was less cluttered.  Very tempting to make him today's blip, but I wanted to record the bluebird activity instead. I'll be back at this same trail with my naturalist group on Wednesday and I'm sure, with their keen ears and eyes, I'll see even more things.  However, I did manage to identify 25 species of birds, plus 3 butterflies (Spring Azure, Cabbage White, and a lovely big tiger swallowtail.)  Hiked about 3.5 miles which felt good.

Quick visit with MIL on my way home. She was a bit confused today; I suspect that the rather full day yesterday may have caused her to be a few steps off today.  However, we laughed a bit and had some hugs and kisses.

Rain forecast for tomorrow.  Maybe I'll manage to get some cleaning done...  

And glad I blipped that little warbler yesterday because he seems to have moved on today.  Had to happen as we don't have enough old pines in our woods to make good nesting habitat for him.

Happy Monday.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.