Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Dark and light trees

A great walk today - I went up a proper hill for the first time in many weeks. I had hesitated about going as I knew I was very unfit, but I figured that I wouldn't get fit if I didn't go up hills. We started at Yair in the Borders, went up to the Three Brethren, down to Ashisteil and back along the Tweed to the start.

I liked the contrast between the trees in the foreground of this photo which were catching the light and the dark conifers behind.

Here's a bit about the Three Brethren in case you were wondering:

The Three Brethren cairns mark the boundaries of the estates of Buccleuch, Yair and Selkirk Burgh at a height of 465m. They are visited by riders during the Selkirk Common Riding in June each year. The first cairn was built by Alexander Pringle, Laird of Yair and Whytbank Tower in 1512. However, one cairn was considered to be insufficient and another two were built at a later date. We do know that the hill is named as the Three Brethren on General Roy’s military maps from the mid 1700’s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.