a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Gormenghast Roofscape

This is a shot of the historic roofscape around the Christmas Steps area of Bristol.  Its a strange mixture of old and new styles.  If it look as though a storm is coming (despite the sunshine) that is about right, I was caught in hail and briefly a few flakes of snow about 5 minutes after taking this picture.

I was standing in what is nowadays a busy road to take this one.  What many people don't appreciate is that under the road lies the culverted river Frome.  Like many cities, modern topography hides much of the historic geography.  Once upon a time, ships would be docked between me and the buildings loading and unloading their cargo.

I've not managed to take part in Tiny Tuesday today, its been one of those days.  I'm afraid that you are also going to have to accept my apologies for the lack of comments etc on Blip just at the moment.

We are still struggling along with a broken broadband connection.  Essentially, I seem to get a maximum of 10 minutes on line before the cable modem shuts down.  The nice man at Virgin thinks its the power supply (it sounds as though we weren't given the right one when the box was installed about 5 months or so ago).  They are posting the new one to us, so hopefully in a few days time ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.