Skip's Blips

By Skip

A teapot of towhees

One of the names given to a group of towhees is a "teapot of towhees." This year there have been very few towhees along the trail in ChagrinRiver Park. That's not to say there aren't any around; I just haven't had the pleasure of encountering more than one or two so far this spring...Definitely not enough to make up a "teapot." In my opinion, they are eye-catching birds, but if I hadn't checked my bird app, I wouldn't have considered them sparrows, which apparently they are. So today I was delighted to get this picture of the towhee, making it my favorite for today. My second favorite today was the white-breasted nuthatch, which I posted as an extra because it posed so nicely.

Postscript: If you would like to read another "Tale from the Trail" that I just posted on my blog, you can view it here. I had a lot of fun writing it and would love to get some feedback. The birds in ChagrinRiver Park are providing me with loads of entertainment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.