Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Old Severn Bridge

The phone went off just after 8am, dragging me out of my pit for a call that saw me stuck in the local early morning traffic. No sooner had I got home and made a cup of coffee than I had another call to Chepstow. After finishing it, I made my way to the Old Severn Crossing from which the Aust ferry transported cars across prior to the bridge opening on 8 September 1966. It took 3.5 years at a cost of £8million. I remember crossing on the ferry and watching it being built.

The tolls are due to be cut next year and reduced in half in 2018.

The photo is taken on the ferry slip at Beachley looking towards the english side. The tide was in and it was lovely and quiet, in contrast to it's heyday. Processed with DxO Optics Pro film preset 'Delta'.

This weeks wide angle wednesday tag is 25. I'm away tomorrow for a few days so will look at entries asap and get results up by Sunday evening at the latest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.