Impromptu orchids

I had an unexpected visit to Morkery Wood this morning. I woke Ben at quarter to seven - he opened his eyes and smiled, appearing to respond to my early morning chatter. At quarter past I belatedly realised he hadn't been in the shower, so I went up to check and found he was fast asleep. He was very confused when I woke him and had absolutely no recollection of my earlier visit!

So, as he'd missed the bus, I drove him into college and then had time for a two and a half hour walk round Morkery Wood before picking him up again. Even though it was still cold, the sunshine was glorious and all the early spring flowers were still in good condition, including masses of Moschatel. The first of the Water Avens were just coming into flower and I also found one very nice patch of Early Purple-orchids. A cuckoo briefly called, my second of the year, and a pair of Willow Warblers were singing. There are few better places to be than in an English woodland in spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.