Powder pink

A busy day, starting with identification of my remaining specimens from Sunday, after which I took Ben to Stamford. I then drove through the rain to Sleaford where I had lunch with my friend, Ross - we caught up on all the latest news from our families and generally put the world to rights. She had to buy my lunch, as a phone call just before I left home had diverted me from transferring my purse to my camera bag. Luckily I had some spare change in my pocket for the car-parking!

We parted just after two, and I headed out towards Greylees and Rauceby for a walk and some recording. It was cool and grey, but still good to be out exploring. I ended up on Rauceby Warren NR which has some of the best acid grassland in Lincolnshire. Not that many plants were flowering, but there was lots of Field Mouse-ear, Hairy Rock-cress, Early Forget-me-not and Common Cornsalad. Unfortunately, just as I was at the furthest point from the car, it began to rain more heavily and I was decidedly soggy by the time I returned!

All the photographs taken when I was out were record plant shots, not very good because of the dull skies and rain. This image of the Clematis which rambles over our lounge roof  was taken early in the morning. I always revel in the abandoned profusion of this species, and its gentle scent which reminds me a bit of marshmallows or old-fashioned face powder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.