Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Lyne Kirk - Sunday Bike Ride

A Sunday morning ride of 120km planned as I am participating in the Etape Caledonia in two weeks, and that's 131km. Obviously the rear mech failure two weeks ago has me rather nervous. Also the warm weather of last week has gone, its very cold when I set off just be 9am.

The route is planned, Penicuik, West Linton, Romannobridge, Lyne. At this point I notice the daffodils in the kirkyard, so I pull over and grab my blips for today. The other is looking back on Lyne itself as an extra. Its 3 degrees C, and I can see my breath. I don't stop for long, its too cold. the roads are quite wet here, so I have missed the rain.

From here, its Kirton Manor and Cademuir. Of course, now I have my blips, the sun comes out and it starts to feel a lot warmer. As I cycle through Cademuir, I can really feel the warmth. Time to take a bite to eat.

From Peebles, its on to the back road to Cardrona and Traquair. The sun has really come out. That's good. The roads are drying out quite nicely. Here, I decide not to head up Paddy Slacks, as I really have to be be back at lunchtime, but down to Innerleithen. Its on to NCN route 1 along the B709 passing the 9 hole golf course and the Piper's Grave. the wind has picked up, and I am climbing up a big hill on a small incline with the wind in my face.

There's a small descent to the turn off for Heriot, but I carry on to the B7007 to head up to the Granites, site of an old quarry, and the highest point of my bike ride at 404m, 1325ft, above sea level.

On my way home now, its just under 32km, 20 miles from here. Middleton, and the west along NCN1 to the tourn off for Outerston, then south to Gladhouse Reservoir. 20km to go, theres a climb up a really rough road to the Top Gear road and Mount Lothian. A great descent to Auchendinny is followed by the penultimate climb up Auchendinny Brae.

Only 6 and a but km to go, which is really fast (I just make the lights at Milton) and on to the A701 and A703 back to Hillend, Fairmilehead and home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.