Bad Timing

We bought this Japanese Acer 5 years ago to put in a very large antique glazed and decorated Chinese pot to stand outside on the patio. We discovered that it did not like the cold west wind whistling round the Dower House when the exposed leaves curled up and died. It was then placed nearer the shelter of the house and under the protection of the balcony above. Although we lost some branches, it seems quite happy now and this season's new leaves are just coming out. How they will cope with the cold snowy forecast for tonight and tomorrow, I can't predict, but I can say with certainty that our visitors arriving today from Pakistan will not be impressed. I sometimes feel that Edinburgh does itself no favours weather wise for tourists when it is cold, wet and windy.

I was in town at such a sharp hour this morning to food shop that I as too early to get the wine with the £10 meal for two at M&S. Why it should only be available after 10am, is a mystery to me. However I was allowed to buy 2 bottles of sparkling elder flower pressé which will be greatly appreciated by my liver.

How to make an account of a wet cold dreary day scintillating in a blog, is an art I have yet to master, so please feel free to yawn like me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.