Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Monsieur

It was a relatively uninspired day, photographically, but I found that I quite liked this particular over-the-shoulder shot of Monsieur Bleu.  He is such a handsome bird that he doesn't need any enhancements.  

I missed what would have been a super shot today.  I went out to sip my tea and look out over the garden...and I didn't take my camera.  That is always a mistake.  Wouldn't you know it, Monsieur flew in with an enormous grub, flew to the nestbox (right in front of me), showed it to Madame, who flew out, sat on a branch 10 feet in front of me, and let Monsieur feed her.  I could shoot myself.  

I went over to the park to check on the goslings and happy to report that they are just as cute as they can be.  Unfortunately, mere minutes after I arrived, one of the maintenance crew showed up on a big riding lawn-mower and aimed it straight for 3 of the goose families, scaring all six parents and roughly 20 goslings into the lake.  What an ass.  I get that he's got a job to do, but he didn't have to run the lawnmower straight at them at full speed - that was just mean.  But I believe mean people end up getting what they deserve at some point in life. Meanwhile, I put a shot in Extra of some of the little ones pilling into the lake.  Hopefully they were able to get out fairly soon since the lake is a dangerous place for little goslings.

Another shot of the goslings and a shot of a courting pair of finches on Flickr starting HERE.

Weather looks iffy for tomorrow so not sure what I'll do, but perhaps another visit to the goslings.  They don't stay cute for all that long, may as well take advantage of it!

My three besties are coming out this weekend - can't wait to see them!  We always have such fun when we get together.

Thanks for the comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's little gnatcatcher.  I saw several more today when I was out, but didn't manage any good shots.  Such cute tiny things!

Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.