Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Much ado about nothing...

I had a wonderful outing with my naturalist group this morning - only about 9 of us ventured out on a morning that was quite chilly.  But, wow, were we rewarded!  I logged 52 species - this on the same trail I hiked on Sunday.  Many warblers and also many of these tiny Blue-Gray Gnatcatchers.  I love these tiny birds although they are frightfully hard to photograph because they never seem to stop moving.  This is pretty heavily cropped and not perfectly sharp, but I love that his little beak is open wide!  Whether he was yakking or tossing back an insect is hard to say.  Either way, it was cute enough to blip.  Their song, by the way, is a very high pitched thin buzz - not all that easy to hear.

I posted three other shots on Flickr, starting HERE - two warblers and one more of the adorable gnatcatcher.

The bluebirds have finished laying eggs and are now set at 5.  She doesn't seem to be incubating them all the time, but hopefully she'll be on them tonight as temps are supposed to dip into the 30's, cold enough for a frost.  Not sure what is happening with the chickadee nest as I can't see any eggs in it.  I'm putting a shot of Madame and Monsieur taken this morning as they perched on a branch about 10 feet from their nest, guarding the territory against cowbirds.  

I believe it is going to rain for much of the day tomorrow, but I plan to get out anyway - there are goslings readily available at a nearby lake as well as whatever shows up in our own yard.  Click, click, click.

Thanks for stopping by!

Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.