Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome back, #30

As I was tidying up some things on the deck this morning, I glanced over at one of the cherry trees and saw this beautiful male Rose-breasted grosbeak looking back at me.  I think this is a little earlier than when I usually see them, but maybe he's heading further north and wanted a head start.  Either way, it's lovely to have them back.  While they don't nest in our yard, they do nest along streams and wetlands around here, so he or his kind will be resident all summer.  

And shortly after seeing him, guess who made an appearance?  None other than P-Hummie who flew up and hovered about 3 feet in front of me, as if so say "I'm back!"  I was tempted to blip him today, but I'd like his first appearance of the season to be something special, so will wait.

I had a little outing to see if I could find some more Virginia Rail and Sora today - and was successful in both.  No good shots of the Sora, but some good ones of a rail preening.  I'll pop one in Extra.  Then back home for lunch on the deck with Hubs where we were visited briefly by a beautiful male Yellow-rumped warbler in full breeding colors.  So many choices today...

A long-time friend of my Hubs' is visiting tonight, so we are off to dinner shortly and then will spend some time just visiting and catching up. Always good to see him.  Tomorrow morning I'm headed over to a nearby state forest to meet up with a friend to do some birding/photography.  Hoping for some more new arrivals.

Have I mentioned lately how much I love this time of year?

Thank you so very much for all the love on my flying bittern yesterday.  I confess I was chuffed to get that shot, even if it wasn't perfect.  

cheers,
xo
Debbi

PS:  To see all 30 of my blipped yard birds for the year, click HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.