FLOWER FRIDAY - THE PROMISE IS THERE!

Before anyone takes me to task - I know these are not strictly flowers, and I am a little disappointed that they are not blooming, but I rather liked the buds of this Tulip Madonna.  We bought them from Waitrose in about October last year in a Cottage Garden Collection and whilst the China Pink Tulip is further on, but not quite open, I thought this one looked more interesting.

I looked for some information on the internet and found this:

“Madonna is a white, parrot tulip bulb with green flecks. Ideal for mixing into many colour schemes or using with other white bulbs for a pure design. Elegant white with a green flame.”  That is the promise!

Whilst searching, I saw that there is a Tulip Maureen, which “has large goblet-shaped blooms that open into a creamy yellow and slowly turn a snow white hue. Its tall sturdy stems hold big beaming blooms.” I might just ask Mr. HCB to buy some for our display next year.

You can be sure, though, that I will Blip Madonna when it is blooming in all its glory, but for now, enjoy the buds.

“And the day came
     when the risk to remain tight in a bud
          was more painful than the risk
               it took to blossom.”
Anais Nin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.