My childhood home, for sale

As most of my blip pals know, we live in my maternal grandparents' home, Dogcorner Cottage to the right in this shot. My brother, who lives in the next house up the street, and I have decided to sell our old childhood homestead. We've been renting it for a number of years and it's time to let it go. My biggest heartache is giving up the land where we played on huge granite outcroppings left by the glaciers and had a great treehouse in the pine.  It went on the market yesterday, a 1946 Cape, designed by the American mid-century architect, Royal Barry Wills, who brought about a revival of old, simple Cape Cod style homes common to New England. 

My parents began building it when they were engaged. They had grown  up in the same town, my mother was two years ahead of my dad in school  He was her prom date when she was a senior. They parted ways, my mother to Wheelock College and a teaching career and other boyfriends. My dad finished high school and enrolled in a trade school with a very full little black book of prospective dates. Soon, off he we to the war. He enlisted in the Army Air Force, CBI Theater, and was stationed in northern India for the duration of the conflict. They met again in January 1946 at a dance as so many Baby Boomers' parents did after the war. My dad was apparently an adorable catch with curly hair and custom made jodphur boots brought home from India. They were engaged that Valentine's Day! My mother's parents gave them land next to their home to build the house pictured. Apparently, they were the talk of the town, building a house before they were married. But married they were that August and soon moved into the house. I came along in 1949, and my brother in 1955.


For the Record,
This day came in sunny with clouds. I saw my first returning Catbird this morning, I adore them. I'm still on the lookout for Jenny Wren and mate. I think the hummer i saw yesterday was just passing through, I have not seen him again.


One hand improving, it's now a cough and a head cold, but my fever has gone and I feel more like myself and less nervous about a return of pneumonia. i'm useless with even a low grade fever.


Extras, my family, back in the day...and our beagle, Tim
My parents heading out on their honeymoon, a night at the Copley Plaza Hotel in Boston and a trip to Maine, eventually spending time with my mum's paternal grandfather and Aunt Abbie in Machiasport.

Blip#2189

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.