The Big Day

Today's the day it all happens. The carpet fitters came this morning and once they'd worked their magic it was all go with the little job of shifting all my crap stuff from the east wing to the new west wing. 

Ikea-itis is something people may be aware of. In this case it was not accompanied by the awful experience of travelling to Ikea but my large desk and that huge shelf unit are both Ikea and had to be taken apart and reassembled once moved. One of the major symptoms is that ache in the wrists from twisting an allen key. I'm sure there ought to be a tool with a decent handle or one you can fil in an electric drill. Maybe there is! 

Rebuilding the desk was the major stress point. Thank goodness we did that first and once it was done the rest of the job was achieved fairly harmoniously and it's been a good day. It was quite nice to do something different at about 6.30 and I cooked a delicious curry and sat down with a beer.

We'll carry on tomorrow and the next day, I imagine, before the job's complete. I thought it would be good to take a picture in the early stages so I can remind myself of how it ought to look when I've got music and camera gear spread all over the floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.