A snowy Eigg

My last day working at Lochalsh Woodland Garden, and after yesterday's snow the mountains were still covered, but we had a beginning to end day of sunshine. I caught the bus from Kyle of Lochalsh and by the time we reached Eilean Donan Castle the road was wet and it rained most of the way to Invergarry. I then waited for the Oban bus at Fort William. Rather good, these free bus passes!

Driving out to the road this morning I persuaded my friend Tim to stop to let me photograph the island of Eigg in the snow. The moon was a bonus which I didn't notice until I uploaded the picture!

My extra today is of Tim feeding the neighbour's ponies with some slightly outdated french beans. They weren't stupid - they merely trampled them! This is a particularly good stretch of the track which Tim has to negotiate every time he leaves and returns home. Two and a half miles of back-breaking track in his 4x4 before reaching the road end where he picks up the car. In between there are three gates, lots of puddles and plenty of cow shit! Once the road end is reached it's nearly another hour before reaching the Skye bridge.

Quite glad to be home, though it wasn't much fun slogging up the hill to the house with a bag and a rucksack!

I'll catch up with Backblips and comments tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.