Cloud Stack

I had a lovely morning looking after my youngest grandchild while her mother was at the hairdresser.  Amelia is a delightful child and was very easy to occupy for a couple of hours - she even helped me with a bit of cleaning!  I love the way that she can 'sing' her rhymes - she can't say the words but by her intonation and rhythm I know which one she is singing - fascinating how children pick up on the nuances of music.

Later on I put the tripod and camera out in the garden and had a go at capturing a time sequence of clouds and then putting them together in Photoshop to show the movement.  This meant setting the camera to take a shot every 20 seconds for 250 shots! At one point the cows wandered into the frame so I had to disregard those images.

I have spent quite a lot of this evening learning more post-processing skills. I can now batch process images in Lightroom and then stack them in Photoshop.  I will still need the article in 'Practical Photography' at hand for the precise settings of some stages, but it's all about how it looks in the end.

The image selected for the blip is a short time span using about 30 frames - one every 20 seconds.  Next time I try this technique, I hope I remember enough to set the time between shots more accurately according to condition.  A very interesting challenge though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.