Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Our 6th

It is difficult to believe with the summer we have had so far that this time six years ago it was about 32 degrees and very humid, but it was. We got married in a beautiful room where, before I arrived, everyone was fighting for a place by the open window and I remember waitresses in the marquee during the wedding breakfast, fighting to hold babies and toddlers stripped down to their nappies infront of the big fans.

I remember having to take my wedding band from Jim and put it on my own finger as due to the heat it wouldn't slide on easily and a button popping of the top of my dress when he picked me up for one of the photos!

I remember two special people being there, they are sadly are no longer with us but I am so grateful that they could share our day.

People travelled from all over the UK, while we were supposed to be signing the register a friend sang a song so beautiful, that everyone, including the registrar stopped to listen and the signing happened when she finished.

Our best man (and I say our as he is as much my friend as Jim's) and my flower girl and their ever growing family came over from Australia.

My bridesmaid and her soon to be husband came over from Eygpt.

We were so lucky as the next day at the time we got married there was a torrential thunder storm!

All these memories came back this morning as I showed Carys some of the photos from the wedding.

Today Nanna and Poppa came over at lunchtime to look after C and W so we could go out for lunch together and alone. Very strange and very nice all at the same time. Can't remember the last time we ate out alone.

Happy Anniversary my lovely husband. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.