Cheque/mate

OK, I'm not going to grumble about being paid but being paid by cheque is a pain in the backside these days. For a start, there are nowhere near as many branches around these parts as there used to be and so getting a cheque into the company account means a trip into Kendal, which, courtesy of the one-way system, is never something I look forward to. 

To take the sting out of the whole business, I arranged to meet IntoTheHills for a coffee. I arrived in Kendal a bit early to get the banking out of the way but, as I stood at the crossroads, he appeared at my side, rather like the shopkeeper in Mr Ben. Thus, we proceeded together to the bank where the whole process of paying in the cheque descended into farce, much to everyone's amusement. 

Still, it was eventually successfully paid in the end and ITH and I decided that perhaps we'd try the new coffee shop, The Bristly Pig, rather than our usual venue, Brew Brothers. It was quite a nice place and very busy, meaning we had snuggle down together on a wide armchair to drink our flat whites. 

I'd only intended to stay for half an hour but the chat ran on as it often does but eventually I dragged myself away and back to the office for a couple of hours before heading off to collect Dan and Abi, and then pick up HB and Charlie from the station. Along with Dean, who's staying at the moment, it was quite a party and a splendid evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.