Church (and William Burroughs)

Walking into Kirkby Lonsdale this afternoon, the Minx and I heard the sound of the choir coming from St Mary's. I'm not sure what they were singing - certainly not hymns - but it was very beautiful, so we want in and had a mooch around the back of the church while listening to the voices fill the old space. 

It's not surprising that church architecture evolved to be impressive and daunting but I do love the acoustic dividend of that process. That said, I enjoy the buildings once they fall into ruin, too, such as the abbeys at Whitby and Shap. The latter was the inspiration for one of only two poems I have ever felt moved to write and I have posted it on Blip previously, here.

The other poem was written after reading William Burroughs' 'The Naked Lunch'. I can't find it anywhere but it went something like this:

William Burroughs, I suspect you really think you're tops,
Up-cut with your technique and your stories of boys' knobs.
But I have read 'The Naked Lunch' and I opine: You're bobs.

****
-3.3kg
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.