Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Maternal

Down by the stream there's a track with some high and very grotty chain link fencing.  The other side of the fence is a piece of water meadows managed by the Wildlife Trust.  It is also, incidentally, the western boundary of the South Downs National Park.  That's where I saw this deer today.  She didn't rush off when she saw me, just stared then ambled a little.  To me she's looking fairly heavily pregnant, so I sympathised.  I wouldn't run in that state either!  It just makes me feel so lucky, though, living in a city but with all this about 1 minute's walk away.  Jay, squirrel and heron blips have all been bagged on almost the self same spot.

The rest of the day was spent in the garden, doing gentle tidying.  The small birds are all so full of feeding their young they hardly move when they see you.  A blackbird drank from my stone trough not 2 metres away as I ate lunch, the robin was following me around (not yesterday's one, today's was Back Garden Robin) and I even got some in-focus shots of a great tit for the first time ever..

So that's me.  Have a fab Sunday evening - and the lucky UK-ers will have tomorrow off as well for MayDay  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.