22 degree halo

Faye was putting the washing out and she came to get me to say that there was a strange rainbow around the moon.

This is a phenomenom known as a  22 degree halo.  

There was a flurry of activity as retrieved my camera from the car.  I took a number of photos, with the DSLR and the iPhone camera, none of which were directly focussed as looking through a viewfinder at the sun is asking for a retinal burn.

Upon loading onto the laptop, I was chuffed to note that I had captured a plane crossing the sun in the frame.

Busy day all round, with more lego construction, consumption of food (I have crumbled today and consumed garlic bread and 2 sour patch kids sweets, although the fact that I only had 2 speaks to the fact that I must have developed some self control.  Previously, the breaking of the seal on a packet of those bad boys resulted in sugar overload from complete consumption in less than 10 minutes!).

In addition to activities inside the house, when Faye took the boys to go shopping this afternoon, Corin, Chris, James and myself attacked the job of painting the deck.  Was nice to be out in the sun, although I suspect that I will pay for that later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.