Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Got One!

I feel so (bleeping) guilty about not having been properly taking care of my backyard birds lately!  Before I could get more seed into the feeder, this Curve-billed thrasher came by and dug one out (see the extra).  I think he was able to reach one of the few sunflower seeds left inside was due to the reach of his bill, much larger and pointier than the poor, little, starving finches!

I chose this photo for the blip because his bright amber/yellow eye is visible.  These birds always look angry to me.  Just like the Gila woodpeckers unique sound, I can usually tell one is close by listening for his two-toned whistle (long low-quick high).

When I called mom this morning she said she missed me.  I told her I would stay there tonight and even a few times a week from now on.  She needs the stimulation of conversation and misses her social activities.  I need to work on getting more of those for her.

Also sorry about making so few comments and replies of late but I hope you understand.  I have been browsing on my devices but...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.