First of May

When I was small, and Christmas trees were tall,
we used to love while others used to play.
Don't ask me why, but time has passed us by,
someone else moved in from far away.

Now we are tall, and Christmas trees are small,
and you don't ask the time of day.
But you and I, our love will never die,
but guess we'll cry come first of May.

- First of May, by the Bee Gees

And so the weekend of the first of May arrived with much rain in the northeastern U.S. Some might have even called it a washout. We didn't have any big plans so we didn't mind. Even better, ThisTV had a James Bond marathon on Friday and Saturday, and Comet TV had an Outer Limits marathon on Sunday. So we didn't lack for things to watch on TV to amuse ourselves on this rainy weekend.

You might be wondering why we are celebrating the first of May with a Christmas tree, but to be honest, I didn't JUST put it up. I just never took it down! We used to have a bigger Christmas tree before we got a cat. Now I put up two very LITTLE trees, each about a foot and a half to two feet tall, and I place them high enough that Dexter can't get at them. For you know he would: he's a CAT after all.

My husband has been pestering me to take down the Christmas trees, and I told him that I would, once it stopped snowing for good for the season. We had our last round of snow on the weekend of April 9, and we had the trees lit all of that weekend to celebrate. After that, I compromised, but just a little bit: I took down the Christmas tree in the bedroom. (But to be honest, I really really miss it, still.)

This is the Christmas tree that's left, the one in the living room, and we light it every evening when I come home from work. Its sparkles and shine and general cheery disposition brighten up many a moment. It will most likely come down by the end of May; even I think so. But I can't promise anything for sure. (But - what if I NEED a little Christmas? Right this very minute?)

I originally thought I might remove the Christmas stuff from the tree and add some more seasonal items - red hearts for Valentine's day, and then possibly birds, flowers, and butterflies for springtime - but in truth, I like it best just the way it is! And for the record, with the Christmas tree lit, there was only happiness on this rainy weekend. We'll save our crying (as per the song) for some other day. . . .

The song to accompany this image is the Bee Gees, with First of May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.